## TEAMS AND MACHINES



▲ Enzo Ferrari, pictured here in 1953, had been a driver for Alfa Romeo before founding his own race team. He died in 1988 at the age of 90.

▼ The sleek Ferrari 330 P3/4 stunned race fans by taking the top three places at the Daytona 24 Hours in 1967.

## FERRARI

superb high-performance cars, passionate fans and red 'Rosso Corsa' racing colours. Its founder, Enzo Ferrari, formed the Scuderia Ferrari team which handled Alfa Romeo's racing entries from 1929. In the late 1930s, Ferrari split from Alfa and began building its own cars. The first successful model was the Tipo 125, which first raced in 1947 and took part in the inaugural Formula One season in 1950. Ferrari quickly became a force in F1 racing, with World Drivers' Championship titles in 1952, 1953, 1956 and 1958. Over the next 20 years, the company reinforced its reputation, producing a succession of outstanding vehicles which competed in GT, sports and endurance racing. Ferrari cars and drivers have won the Targa Florio seven times, the Mille Miglia eight times, and the Le Mans 24 Hours nine times. A lean 15 years in Formula One ended with the arrival of Jean Todt as team boss in 1993 and driver Michael Schumacher in 1996. Schumacher transformed the team, with a staggering five world drivers' titles (2000–04) and six constructors' titles (1999-2004) in a row. Ferrari now leads the sport, with the most F1 race wins (184 to the end of 2005) and most constructors' championships (14).

Ferrari is known throughout the world for its



▲ Team Penske driver Sam Hornish Jr exits the pits during the Miami Indy 300, round one of the 2005 Indy season.

Roger Penske retired from race driving in 1965 to form Penske Racing and Team Penske. Success came almost instantly, with wins in the Trans-Am Series Championship in 1968 and 1969, and victory at the 1969 Daytona 24 Hours. In the 1970s, Penske entered NASCAR and F1 racing, but tragedy struck when Mark Donohue, the team's engineer and driver, died during practice for the 1975 Austrian F1 GP. The team's greatest success has come in Indy racing, with an extraordinary 13 Indy 500 victories. With over 120 race wins and 11 national championships to the end of 2005. Penske is the most successful team in IndyCar history. After leaving NASCAR in 1980, Penske returned full-time in 1991. Driving the famous number 2 car, Rusty Wallace became a firm favourite with fans, recording 37 Nextel Cup wins for the team by the end of his 'Last Call' season in 2005.



Lola was formed by Eric Broadley, a quantity surveyor with a passion for building cars. The team debuted its first vehicle, the beautiful Mark I, in 1958. It became the first car to lap Brands Hatch in under one minute. In the mid-1960s, Lola developed its legendary series of muscular T70 endurance cars, which won the Daytona 24 Hours as well as Can-Am and TT competitions. Lola cars enjoyed success in Indy racing too, with the first of three Indy 500 victories coming in 1966. The team sporadically entered Formula One, with little success, in marked contrast to its fortunes in CART (now Champ Car) racing. Here, legends such as Mario Andretti, Bobby Rahal, Nigel Mansell and Paul Tracy clocked up 10 championship titles. In the 1990s, Lola provided the chassis

for all cars entering the Formula 3000 Championship and the CART Indy Lights Championship. The company was also chosen to supply the chassis for every car competing in the first A1 Grand Prix season, in 2005-06.

◀ Max Biaggi of Italy speeds to victory on his Aprilia in the 250cc race of the 1995 German Grand Prix at the Nürburgring.

GREAT TEAMS

▼ The legendary Stirling Moss drives a Lola Mark I in a historic car race at





## **APRILIA**

Aprilia began making mopeds and motorcycles in the 1960s, and produced its first motocross bike, the Scarabeo, in 1970. After winning its first Italian Motocross Championship in 1977, Aprilia emerged internationally in the 1980s to enjoy road-racing success against the giants of Yamaha and Honda. From 1985 to 2004, Aprilia's success in smaller-engine championships was impressive, with 163 race victories, 472 podium finishes and a total of 22 world titles. Since 1992. Aprilia bikes have won six 125cc World Championships and seven 250cc world titles, including a three-in-a-row triumph for Max Biaggi (1994–96). The team has not matched this success at Superbike or MotoGP level, although parts of its innovative RS3 bike, such as throttle by wire, have been copied by other teams.

